Are you a movie critic?

I have to confess, I’m probably not a very good movie critic, I just like movies too much.  Having written a couple of screenplays (for my own pleasure) and been a part of a short independent film, I have a great appreciation for those that have the energy, the time, the comittment to write, produce, film, edit, support, and just simply pull off the making and putting a film together.

That being said, I tend to have my likes and dislikes of genres.  For example, there seem to by many movie goers that enjoy the horror/slasher genere, or so the numbers would suggest.  But I’m not one of them.  It’s simply not me.  Again, I appreciate greatly the effort it takes to make one, and those that go, I’m sure enjoy the experience just as I do my romantic,  or action/adventure genre.

So, in the spirit that y0u might get to know my likes a little:   Some of my more enjoyable movies off the top of my head…

Butch Cassidy & the Sundance Kid,  Field of Dreams, The whole Bourne series, Sleepless in Seattle, Garden State, Who killed the electric car, Enron, The Dark Knight, Into the Wild, Ocean 11,12,13, Vovler, Heaven Can Wait, Out of Sight.

So, do you like any of these.?  What are some of your more enjoyable movies?  You certainly don’t have to like what I like just to share.

Next…..”Wanna write a screenplay?”

Have fun…….Fred

This entry was posted in Movie/Screenplay Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Are you a movie critic?

  1. Christina says:

    I tried writing a screenplay (okay stage play) and failed all kinds of ways so I definitely have an appreciation for those that do! I may even try again some day.

    I find that being involved with all kinds of plays, writing, Nia , stained glass, or any other creative effort that the more I learn, the less critical I become, even if something is not to my taste. I hope I never become the kind of ‘expert’ that becomes critical and jaded of any creative attempt. Suggestions for improvement (ie the witness) are great but can do without the judgments that can sometimes attach themselves to our critical voices.

    No surprise, my favorite movies tend to be the fantasy movies. ‘Lord of the Rings’, ‘Star Wars’, ‘Harry Potter’, ‘The Princess Bride’, ‘Return to Me’, ‘The Dark Crystal’. There are the movies that I have a fondness for like, ‘The Mummy’, ‘Mortal Kombat’ or ‘Tank Girl’ that for some unknown reason appeals to me on one level, while other movies like ‘The Big Blue’ or ‘Dreams may not be watched as much but reach me on another level. I love being drawn into the story and the images.

    • fredbass says:

      Yeah, I have found the whole coming to something as first an observer, with no judgement has with it a certain amount of freedom, and easier to enjoy it, whatever it is.
      I so agree with you on enjoying different movies on different levels. I find too that it just has so much to do with a good story, and told well. I so enjoy being drawn in. Sometimes, late into the night, I’ll start some movie, and I can here myself saying, “uh oh….you’re getting drawn in, better turn it off or be ready for a long night.” But I find a good story to be worth it.
      Thanks Christina….Fred

  2. I wrote a screenplay. I am currently working on my second. I would love for them to go somewhere. You have any advice?

    I write movie reviews and children books for fun. Feel free to share your opinion on the movies I have reviewed:
    http://moviesaccordingtodes.wordpress.com/

    • Anonymous says:

      Hi Des:

      Not sure I’m smart enough to make sure this reply gets to you, but here’s trying. Thanks for taking the time to comment on my blog. I too would love to have my screenplays go somewhere, and here’s to all of us who keep trying.

      A piece of advice you might not have thought of yet is the screenplay contests. The two prominent ones, and thus in my opinion, more noticable ones, The Austin Film Festival and the Nicholl Fellowship in Screenwriting. I’m a little more familiar with the Nicholl Fellowhip and the many success stories that have come out of that, here’s a link that I think you will find interesting (http://www.oscars.org/awards/nicholl/index.html) But keep in mind, it’s judged by human beings, and that makes it very subjective, one person reading a script may not like it while 50 others do.
      Keep on writing….and for heaven’s sake…have fun…..Fred

Leave a Reply

