Help! Can’t sleep and I don’t know why?

It is 3:58 am as I start to write this blog.  Thus, the problem.  It’s not that I can’t get to sleep, the problem is waking up in the middle of the night and not being able to get back to sleep.

Yes, there are many more pressing problems for people in the world, but this is my problem, and I’m tired of it….from it.

I have numerous books on my nightstand.  I use them to help me fall asleep.  I kid you not, once I start reading, I am out within 10 minutes.   All my life, I typically wake up at some point in the night, take a quick look at the clock…”Oh, it 12:20, fantastic, hours of sleep left!” and in seconds, back to la la land.  Or, “Oh, it’s 5:55 am, at least I’ve got 5 more minutes!”  And it’s back to la la land for those precious 5 minutes.

I know there are people that think sleep is a waste of time.  I’m NOT one of them.  I love my sleep.  I love the restorative nature of it.  I love the very escape of it.  And,  I love to dream.  Ever since Mr. Snyder’s senior English class where our assignment was to each morning, just after we wake, grab pen and paper and write down what we remember about our dreams.  I have forever since recalled some part of my dreams each morning.  No worries, we are not going into the realm of analyzing them, that’s for another blog.  Just making the point, that for the most part, I luv my dreams.

But over the last several months now, at some  point during the night, I will wake up, look at the clock, “oh, it’s 4:23, great, an hour and a half of sleep left”.  Then I’ll lay there for a minute, and then another minute, pretty soon it’s 30 minutes…then and hour…an hour and a half.   Granted,  my mind tends to race during this time, but trust me, my mind is always racing,  always has.   One minute I’m working on the choreography from the latest Nia routine, (Kim, Kristina, Caz, try not to laugh to hard, cause I know that in particular this week, you can relate.), and in the next instant I’m working on creating workouts for the track kids, to why can’t I get that F# bar chord on the guitar, and then my mind moves on to trying to solve our worlds problems in the middle east, and on to the latest character in my screenplay “Containment”.   But it is usually these very thoughts that are so non-exciting that they help me fall back to sleep.  Not anymore.

I have tried grabbing the usually reliable books that get me to sleep, but they just don’t seem to have the effect in the middle of the night.

So, guys and gals, I come to you for any help you might have.  I am open to most any thoughts and ideas (that are at least legal and non-harming to our bodies).

Thank you, and remember, whatever you find yourself doing today, or in my case, in the middle of the night…for heaven’s sake…have fun!……Fred

This entry was posted in Stuff!!! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Help! Can’t sleep and I don’t know why?

  1. As a child my mother once told me to think of nothing but a brown paper grocery sack (there was no “paper plastic option back then”). This worked for me — until I started concentrating on the details of the sack. There are creases in those sacks, exactly how do they fold? There is a printed stack on the bottom, what does it say?. I found myself wanting to get up during the night to find the answers to these questions. Maybe it will for you — if the details won’t haunt you.

    • fredbass says:

      Thank you, I’ll have to give it a try. I have a small fear that I will also get lost in the details. But it certainly is legal, and doesn’t sound too harmful….thanks.

  2. Jess says:

    I have the exact same problem. Sometimes music would work, but now that I have memorized even the non english part of all of Josh Groban’s albums, that no longer works. You could try..

    Lay on your back, with your hands and feet spread a little.

    Close your eyes, and visualize your feet melting into the bed. If it helps, you can even flex the body parts as you do this. Once your feet have melted, next your legs, and torso, and so on moving up the body. If you can get in the trance, you will eventually feel like all this is actually happening. I have done this a few times, and I will say I have never gotten past my hands. It’s worth a shot…

    • Anonymous says:

      You are right, in that anything is worth a try. Woke at about 4:45 this morning, should have just gotten up, but laid there until 6:00. Next time, I’ll try your thoughts, but probably without the Josh Groban…..thanks.

  3. Alesia says:

    There are some very mellow herbal approaches you could try. Even though you chance waking yourself up more by getting up, it is sometimes nice to make a little warm herbal tea. You could sip this while reading and maybe get a dual effect. Some gentle herbs to try: Lavender, Chamomile, Milky Oats, Linden Leaf and Flower, Rooibos. There are also some Yogi teas, Bedtime or Calming that are already premixed and pretty good. The Bedtime is a little strong though. If you are open to it and you tell me what you think might be your preference for taste and/or strength, I would be glad to mix a blend for you to try.

    Take care.

  4. Caz says:

    Yes I can relate to trying to learn the choreography of a routine – infact thats whats been waking me up recently – I have the songs going through my head and wake up to find my arms waving up and down…so if you find the answer for going back to sleep…please share!

Leave a Reply

