One of the reasons I love where I live:

I had the occasion to travel to a job site in Corvallis yesterday morning.  Easiest way for me to get there is to travel the back roads of Oregon, and for those of you in the know, mainly Hwy 47 and 99W.  My preparation routine is to get all the equipment into the truck, and get the compressor hitched up all the night before so that I can literally wake up, jump in the truck and hit the road.

The morning was proceeding as expected.  I was just awake enough to drive safely when about 5 miles north of McMinnville, I find myself driving through a pretty thick patch of fog.  I grabbed my blackberry–sure enough, Aug. 18th—still summer but my first sense of change in the air.

Once in the big city of McMinnville I decide to stop at one of my favorite watering holes for a quick breakfast.  The great thing about WinCo is that it just doesn’t matter where in the world you are, they are pretty much all laid out the same, so I know where things are located.  Early in the morning before my brain has booted up, this is a good thing.  I grab a banana and a small container of Nesquick.   This is when my brain boots up, cause I’m struck that a container of Nesquick at the McMinnville WinCo retails for $1.27 and at the Hillsboro WinCo the same retails for $1.49.  Is the McMinnville store under some Federal subsidy program I don’t know about?  I may have to start shopping McMinnville.  I may have to start leading the kind of life that I don’t know the costs difference of Nesquick.

As I’m walking back to the truck, it strikes me that I’m smiling, and not sure why.  Am I really that obsessed that saving $0.22 on a container of Nesquick brings me joy?  Before you answer, let me share with you, as I stopped for a moment in the parking lot, as I breath in the cool air, as I look to the sky and see a few patches of blue sky, it hits me, my body is smiling because….”FALL IS COMING”.

I love the fall.  I love the change from summer to fall.  While we have four seasons here in Oregon, the great changes for me are Winter to Spring, and Summer to Fall.   The change from Spring to Summer, or Fall to Winter is pretty much a date on the calendar.  But man, those cool mornings, the warm afternoons, of September and October.  I can taste them as I sit here and write this.

I’m hit with the memory of attending the wonderful elementary institution of St. Matthews.   I was a “walker”, meaning we lived to close to be picked up by a bus, so I walked to school, home from school, even home and back for lunch. I would grab my jacket on the first cold morning and walk to school.  By lunch, it was iffy whether the temperature warranted a jacket or not.  But certainly by the end of the day, it was so warm, the coat was forgotten and typically left in the coat room at the school overnight.  The next morning, well some of you might have had more than one coat, not the Basses.  I spent many of the nice chilly mornings walking to school a tad on the cold side (but warmed with the thought that all would be swell by the afternoon).

The fall is like a new beginning, a new lease on life.  School is just starting up, new clothes, new pencils, new pee-chee folders.  Fall sports are just kicking into full gear.  I’m a longtime advocate that September 1st should be the beginning of the new year.

I know it’s not fall yet.  But it’s coming, I can smell it in the air.  And it makes me smile.

I don’t know what the fall is like where you live, but I wish for you the sense of walking in the crisp cool air, putting on a jacket for the first time in months, listening to the leaves crunch beneath your feet, seeing your breath form in the air, catching a pee-wee/high school/college football game, throwing a scarf around your neck, watching the sun set a little earlier, seeing the first glimpse of a harvest moon, or just sensing a time of change.  Whatever your fall has in store for you….for heaven’s sake….have fun……Fred

This entry was posted in Stuff!!! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One of the reasons I love where I live:

  1. Marissa says:

    “I may have to start leading a life where I don’t notice the cost differences of Nesquick.” Hahaaaha. Nice 🙂

  2. Jess says:

    I love the fall too. Fall is the most amazing season of change in the entire year. Fall is the beginning of the holiday season for me as well. I love that fall signals new beginnings, as well as the end of the year, but the start of the holidays. And I too advocate that September should be the beginning of the year. I count my years by the school year. I have been smiling along with you the last few days as the changes have been coming. : )

  3. Christina says:

    This, Fred is just beautifully written and expressed. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

