WHAZZZZ UPPPPP!!!!

Once in a blue moon, I get this nagging tweak of guilt that I should sit down and put some words to my my blog.  Fortunately for me, whenever I have that sensation,  I visit the blog of an unnamed dear friend of mine.   Turns out, she hasn’t posted anything new since August 21, 2010,  aaahhhhh, and that little twinge of guilt goes away.

That being said, I thought I would take advantage of a little spare time this afternoon (code for it’s Friday and I just can’t face anymore work this week) to share with you just a few of the things that have been going on that have kept me away.

THE HOLIDAY SEASON:  My gosh honest only complaint is that I so look forward to the Christmas Season each year with great anticipation…and then it’s over.  Have yet to figure out how to slow it down with greater appreciation.  The new thing for me this year was actually attending three different holiday parties.  I’m thinking I sort of became the “charity/pity” guest.   I am so ok with that.

THE BIG NEWS:  My son and the wonderful love of his life are engaged to be married.  Yep, he got on his knee over the holiday season and she was kind enough to say “Yes”.  They are two of the best people I know.  But I have to tell you, in all honesty…It’s a very new and wonderful sensation adding another daughter to the family.  How blessed am I?

MOVIES TO MAKE:  As you may have seen from my youtube account, or on facebook, or here on my blog (wow, that sounds like someone with not much of a life), my new birthday/Christmas toy is the Canon Rebel T2i.  I have also added the Final Cut Express 4 editing software and have decided to shoot my first short film.  I have the script in it’s close to final version.  Just starting putting storyboard to it.  Don’t want to tell you too much so as not too give it away, but the title is “The Last Gift”.  Hope to film, edit and put it up for all to view in the next 60 days.  The one after that will be “The Gate Keeper”.  I’m looking forward to sharing the process with you when I have to first one completed.

MOVIES TO SEE:  This is certainly not a “Critics” review, just two movies that I’ve had the pleasure of seeing recently that I think you might enjoy.

  1. True Grit:   Growing up a John Wayne fan I wasn’t sure I wanted to see a re-make of something done well the first time.  But having seen Jeff Bridges in Crazy Heart on DVD recently and was so impressed with what he did, I was a little interested to see what he might do with the Rooster Cogburn character.  And yes,  having Matt Damon in it doesn’t hurt.  However, Hailee Steinfeld  is the wonderful 35 year old woman in the body of a 14 year old who plays Mattie Ross and steals the show.  It is close to shocking how well she does to a first time movie actress.
  2. The Kings Speech:  Colin Firth, Geoffery Rush & Helena Bonham Carter.  ‘Nuff said…treat yourself and go see it.

DREAMS (the good kind):  The other night, I had a dream of my wonderful daughter, Jaime.  We were simply sitting in a grassy field having a conversation.  It was the most natural thing, simply catching up as if we hadn’t seen each other for a short while.  When I woke up, the clock caught my eye, 3:30…cool, a little more sleep time.  Wait, that makes it the 18th….Jaime’s Birthday…what a wonderful gift she gave me.

LAST RANDOM THOUGHT:  One has to burn 3,500 calories to shed 1 pound of fat.  Just sayin’!  Come join me for an hour of Nia.  One of the more fun ways to burn some of those cals.

Whatever you do today…see a movie, make a movie, share a dream, get engaged, savor the holidays, heck, savor today…whatever….for heaven’s sake….have fun……fred.

This entry was posted in Stuff!!! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WHAZZZZ UPPPPP!!!!

  1. Caz says:

    Glad you’ve updated your blog. Awesome news about your son (December is a good month to get engaged:-) and my heart jumped a little more reading about your dream with Jamie! Keep writing..and maybe I’ll get a chance to take the occasionally nia class with Team Bass in 2011! Big hugs from Cazelious!!!

  2. Adelle says:

    Hi there… well, random but the only two movies I’ve had time to see lately (or allowed myself time to see) are True Grit and The King’s Speech.
    They both are still with me.
    Thank you for sharing…
    Love, A

Leave a Reply

